Despite the fact that many of us are well versed on the importance of applying sunscreen, many sunscreen myths persist. In this post we’ll take a look at 5 sunscreen myths; you may be surprised.

SHOP ALL APOTHEKARI SKINCARE

  1. Base Tans Offer Protection. Repeat after me, “There is no such thing as a safe tan”. A tan is your body’s response to the exposure of UV rays. When skin cells are exposed to UV light, they produce more melanin, the pigment that colors your skin and that’s why you get a tan.  A tan is a sign that your skin has been damaged and does not mean that you’ll be protected against future sun damage. A “base tan” offers about an SPF 4 protection compared to a white T-shirt, SPF 7. If you like the look of tanned skin, opt instead for a self-tanner. A couple of options are available at our sister store PhaMix.com.
  2. I Have Dark Skin So I’m Safe. Individuals with more pigment in their skin tend to have a lower skin cancer risk. Yet, it is frequently diagnosed in people of color. However, it tends to be diagnosed later, meaning it’s progressed to an advanced stage and therefore more difficult to treat. The sun doesn’t only increase your risk for skin cancer, it also deepens dark spots and can lead to hyperpigmentation. Just because you have darker skin, you’re not immune from sun damage.
  3. Wearing Sunscreen Prevents Vitamin D Production. You don’t need a lot of time in the sun to produce Vitamin D. Just 15-20 minutes to exposed skin is usually enough. Vitamin D deficiency has even been found in tanned individuals so lots of sun exposure isn’t a sure bet that your levels are OK. One study of Hawaiian surfers found that although all participants were tanned, many were still vitamin D deficient. Vitamin D can also come from supplements; not just the sun. Check in with your health care professional if you feel that supplementation might be a good idea for you.
  4. “Waterproof” Sunscreens Do Not Wash Off. There is no such thing as a “waterproof” (or “sweatproof”) sunscreen. Although the term is prohibited by both the FDA and Health Canada, you may still find sunscreens labelled as such. Both regulatory bodies recommend use of the term “water-resistant” instead. A water-resistant sunscreen remains active after 40 minutes of exposure to water. A “very water-resistant” sunscreen remains active after 80 minutes of exposure to water. If you’ve been in the water or perspiring, you must reapply.
  5. Sunscreen is Bad For You. Because there is more awareness regarding the importance of sunscreen and more of us use it, it’s easy to attribute sunscreen use to the increase in the development of skin cancer. It’s important to note that while we are more sun aware and using more sunscreen, we are also spending more time in the sun. We take more tropical vacations, retire in sunnier locations and use sun beds more frequently. There’s no evidence that sunscreen causes cancer and most health care professionals agree that it’s our behaviors rather than our sunscreen use that is contributing to a rise in skin cancer rates.

Have I helped to debunk some of the sunscreen myths?

★ Judge.me Reviews

Let customers speak for us

49 reviews
96%
(47)
0%
(0)
4%
(2)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
L
Daily Infusion Moisturizer
Lisa Rodger (Vancouver, CA)

Love this moisturizer. So soft and dewy.

Love, love, love!

I've only been using this serum for a couple of weeks and the difference in my skin is already noticeable. I have very sensitive skin and didn't have any irritation. I was able to use it daily from day 1. Love this product! It's going to be a staple in my arsenal from now on.

Works good but..

I have been using this deodorant for a couple weeks now and it works very well to keep door at bay. However it dries sticky and when I sweat it gets even more sticky. I will keep using fur a while to see if I can get past the sticky feeling, but not sure if I can. It’s too bad because it really does work.

Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased to hear that our deodorant is working very well for you! We're always happy to receive feedback from our customers as we try to improve our products. We will take your comment into consideration to improve the formulation. Thank you!

Customer Service

Good customer service

Updated Review: Customer service reached out to me promptly and provided me with a refund. I was satisfied with customer service. Wish this product worked for me because prior to the rash it was great.

This worked for a few weeks and I started getting a painful red rash under my arms. I was about to purchase a set of 4 and I’m glad that I didn’t. I reached out to the company to inquire about what could have caused this as they claim to have products that don’t cause rashes. Of course no one ever replied. Will not purchase again

Dear Tara,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you experienced a reaction to our deodorant. It's formulated to be irritation free (pH friendly ingredients and without baking soda). Very occasionally you may experience discomfort or tingling, especially after shaving or if you have sensitive skin.
We've checked our records and are unable to locate an email or call from you regarding this issue. We've tried reaching out via email but haven't heard back. We stand by all our products and offer a full money-back guarantee if you're not satisfied. Please get in touch with us and we will be happy to help resolve this issue.

Customer Service

J
Neroli Rose Natural Deodorant Roll-On
Jennifer C. (Princeton, US)
It works!

Happy to finally found a natural deodorant that actually works- worth every penny. Excited to try more scents, especially the lavender when it is back in stock.

Price Based Country test mode enabled for testing Canada. You should do tests on private browsing mode. Browse in private with Firefox, Chrome and Safari