SHOP ALL APOTHEKARI SKINCARE

There has been a movement of late toward ‘handcrafted’, ‘all-natural’, ‘small batch’, ‘artisanal’ and ‘hand-made’. Whether it’s cosmetics, food or beverages, the implication is that these products are somehow superior or safer for you to consume. While this may very well be the case in some instances, it’s not always true.

When it comes to handcrafted skin care products, you may want to consider a few things before you jump on the bandwagon.

  1. Where Was The Small Batch Product Produced? While there is nothing inherently wrong with whipping things up in your kitchen, a kitchen is quite different to a dedicated manufacturing facility. Labs that produce cosmetics for retail purposes (or commercial kitchens that prepare food) are often government inspected and must prove that they follow stringent protocols to ensure the safety of the end product. Wiping down the counter with rubbing alcohol isn’t good enough!
  2. Quality Control. Can you guarantee that each batch is the same? A solid formulation, proper equipment and knowledge regarding ingredient sourcing help to ensure that the tenth batch is the same as the first one. If policies and procedures aren’t adhered to, there is no way to guarantee that every batch will be the same.
  3. Contamination/Safety. Whether from unhygienic equipment or surfaces; tainted ingredients or improper preservation, there is always the risk for contamination. While this is true even for experienced producers, the chances of contamination increase with individuals who are less experienced. Contaminated skin care products not only smell and look bad, they may also contain bacteria, mold or fungi, making them downright dangerous to apply to your skin. Preservative free products sitting out in the sun all day? Um, no thanks!
  4. Elegance. Otherwise known as a pleasing texture, small batch cosmetics often feel thick, heavy and greasy. Not always, but in general, I have not been impressed by products whipped up by home crafters. I’m not sure whether it’s inexperience, the choice of ingredients or lack of proper equipment that leads to this, but if it doesn’t feel good on my skin, I’m not going to use it. No matter how safe it claims to be.
  5. Efficacy. Many handcrafted skin care lines focus on being ‘natural’. Natural isn’t a regulated word so it can mean anything. Yes, it may be safe, but is it really doing anything for your skin? Before you believe the claims, check out the ingredient list to make sure you’re getting what you’re paying for.

I love summer with its many outdoor events including festivals and markets and I always have a blast checking out local vendors who often set up stalls. Whether it’s beautiful jewelry, pottery, or decadent desserts, I love to wander and sample – it’s exciting to discover something new and feels good to support a small, local business if I can. I like to peruse handcrafted skin care products as well, but I’m very cautious about what I purchase because I understand the process behind creating safe and effective products. I hope that this post has helped you too.

★ Judge.me Reviews

Let customers speak for us

48 reviews
96%
(46)
0%
(0)
2%
(1)
0%
(0)
2%
(1)
Love, love, love!

I've only been using this serum for a couple of weeks and the difference in my skin is already noticeable. I have very sensitive skin and didn't have any irritation. I was able to use it daily from day 1. Love this product! It's going to be a staple in my arsenal from now on.

Works good but..

I have been using this deodorant for a couple weeks now and it works very well to keep door at bay. However it dries sticky and when I sweat it gets even more sticky. I will keep using fur a while to see if I can get past the sticky feeling, but not sure if I can. It’s too bad because it really does work.

Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased to hear that our deodorant is working very well for you! We're always happy to receive feedback from our customers as we try to improve our products. We will take your comment into consideration to improve the formulation. Thank you!

Customer Service

Terrible Rash

This worked for a few weeks and I started getting a painful red rash under my arms. I was about to purchase a set of 4 and I’m glad that I didn’t. I reached out to the company to inquire about what could have caused this as they claim to have products that don’t cause rashes. Of course no one ever replied. Will not purchase again

Dear Tara,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you experienced a reaction to our deodorant. It's formulated to be irritation free (pH friendly ingredients and without baking soda). Very occasionally you may experience discomfort or tingling, especially after shaving or if you have sensitive skin.
We've checked our records and are unable to locate an email or call from you regarding this issue. We've tried reaching out via email but haven't heard back. We stand by all our products and offer a full money-back guarantee if you're not satisfied. Please get in touch with us and we will be happy to help resolve this issue.

Customer Service

J
Neroli Rose Natural Deodorant Roll-On
Jennifer C. (Princeton, US)
It works!

Happy to finally found a natural deodorant that actually works- worth every penny. Excited to try more scents, especially the lavender when it is back in stock.

J
Shea Body Butter
Jennifer C. (Princeton, US)
My new fave

This cream is my new fave. It's moisturizing without being greasy and absorbs well. The scent is crisp and clean without being overpowering. My husband and son have started using it and love it too! Might need another one to keep by the kitchen sink.

Price Based Country test mode enabled for testing Canada. You should do tests on private browsing mode. Browse in private with Firefox, Chrome and Safari